For free updates and exclusive new content Sign up

British actress Michaela Coel provides an engaging emotional centre as the plot twists come thick and fast in this thorny series from British writer-director Hugo Blick that succeeds in making a globe-trotting geopolitical saga not just watchable but riveting. Fans of The Night Manager, Collateral or Blick’s previous series The Honourable Woman will find plenty to relish.

Directors

  • Hugo Blick

Writers

  • Hugo Blick
  • Amit Patel

Cast

  • Michaela Coel
  • John Goodman
  • Harriet Walter

Synopsis

When criminal lawyer Eve Ashby (Harriet Walter) takes a case to prosecute a Rwandan militia leader, her adopted daughter Kate (Michaela Coel), herself a survivor of the Rwandan genocide, finds herself thrown headfirst into a web of secrets, trauma and colonial conflict.