For free updates and exclusive new content Sign up

Bannan

In the vein of Broadchurch or Scandi noir, this empathetic exploration of rural life - filmed on the Isle of Skye - is rife with revelations and shock twists. Melding melodrama with elements of mystery thriller, Bannan is both eye-opening and gasp-inducing.

Synopsis

Follows the journey of a successful city lawyer Mairi (Debbie Mackay) who returns home to the island she grew up on, having escaped its claustrophobia and customs eight year prior. But when her trip is extended, she finds herself re-entering the tight knit community and forced to confront old demons.